B6 Models Please discuss all 2002 - 2005 B6 A4 topics here...

Car will not Start! Will not crank! HELP

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2010, 08:33 AM
Angry Car will not Start! Will not crank! HELP

Hi. This is my first time posting on audi forums. Normally i get my answers by reading other peoples stuff. But not this time.
I am in a bind. I have a 2002 Audi A4 Q 1.8T. I drove it the other day then parked it for about an hour. When i went to go to the store, the car would not start. It would not crank or nothing. I thought the battery was dead so I tried jumping the car. All lights are on the dash, headlights come on. Strange! So the next morning i go in the car and turn the key and the damn thing starts. Well i drive it around all day doing my errands, hoping it was just something that fixed itself. Until i got to chase bank. It would not start again.. You turn the key and nothing. All lights come on but the car will not crank. So i called the tow truck. Some hours later the tow truck driver comes and asks for the keys and the damn car starts again.
Ok, now i am mad. I take the battery out and bring it to autozone and they test it. The battery is good. I checked the ground to the battery and the ground that i think goes to the frame and they appear ok. I took the damn starter out and autozone tested it 3 times and it passed with flying colors. My friend said it could be the starter relay, but when i look online i dont think this year has one. I bought a ignition switch, but dont want to take the stearing apart unless i really have to. Please someone help me! Oh and now, a few days later the car will not start at all. Maybe the neutral safety switch? Still you turn the key and all lights come on but the damn thing wont crank. I here a click near the shifter i think and a click near the turbo and i hear the fuel pump ingaging when i turn the key. But thats it. PLEASE HELP ME. I DONT WANT TO BRING IT TO MY LOCAL STEALER....!

Old 04-17-2010, 06:24 PM
3rd Gear