B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Cant get out of LIMP MODE, HELP!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2009, 11:54 AM
1st Gear
Default Cant get out of LIMP MODE, HELP!!!

Hey Guys, Im new to the posting so bare with me. I have gotten alot of info from reading these forums but cant figure this one out. I have a 97 1.8, chipped, 710N, n75J, that is in "linp mode" and I cant figure out what is wrong. I have tried swapping out the 710, also put back the stock n75, also switched the maf and checked all hoses for leaks but have not been able to get out of limp. I actually swapped the turbo out the other day hoping it was a wastgate or turbo problem but no changes. Does anyone have any other ideas what I should check?

I have scanned it several times and never have come up with any codes. I have read that a bad o2 sensor can trigger limp mode but wouldnt I get a code for that?

PLEASE HELP!!!!

Old 07-21-2009, 11:58 AM

Do you have a boost gauge? What chip do you have? When did the problems start to occur?

From my experience, limp mode is usually caused by a boost leak that messes with the air/fuel ratios. You might want to check for boost leaks, there is a fairly easy and effective method that involves a tennis ball on AudiDIY.com. Just make sure you dont over-pressurize the system.

Old 07-21-2009, 12:03 PM
Legal Moderator